Adobe InDesign: Bugs
When filing a new bug, please provide:
- Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
- Steps to reproduce the issues
- Expected result
- Actual result
- Test file, screenshot, video or GIF capturing the issue (optional)
- or
950 results found
-
Image selection triggers frozen Adobe Help video pop up , makes me lose any shortcut
Whenever I click an image; what seems to be a still from a video ( looks like a help video from Adobe ) comes into the left corner, disabling any other shortcut. Can't seem to disable these videos anywhere and it just pops up.
Especially the undo is utmost anoying.1 vote -
1 vote
-
Table borders, strokes, artifacted in InDesign problem
InDesign ver. 16.1 (2021): Table borders and strokes created on a separate layer and artifacted in InDesign are not tagged as artifacts when converted to PDF.
Close to a hundred "Path Object" errors flagged by the PAC 3 Accessibility Checker which we are required to use. The problem is none of these borders and strokes can be accessed in Acrobat with the Reading Order tool and therefore cannot be marqueed as artifacts. They are simply “not available” in Acrobat, yet PAC 3 flags them as “Path Object Not Tagged” errors.
~ Replacing tables with paragraph borders (on single layer) in…9 votes -
pdf
Many occasions over the last couple of weeks when I try to export a PDF, it just blocks, wheel turning in the top right corner, and nothing happens until I forcibly close the program through Task Manager. On may occasions the completed PDF then appears in the folder.
1 vote -
[ID-4252110]Place (cmd+D) can't see tagged folders on mac
Place command (cmd+D) can't see the tagged folders, so i can't find my documents quickly as it should be...
All other commands (export cmd+E for exemple) allow me to navigate from my tagged folders.
Please add the same option to place command.
27 votesHi,
We have been able to reproduce the issue and it is currently under investigation.
—
Adobe InDesign Team
-
History panel erases undo option and history steps (behavior different from previous version) and
The history panel seems to be limited to 5 actions. Additionally, with the latest update (20.2), if you access the history panel at all, it overtakes the Ctrl+Z / Ctrl+Shift+Z function for undo/redo as it has worked in the past.
When the history panel is opened, it selects the most recent action. Even if the panel is closed, whatever is done after this point erases all the other actions, so that you are left with "open" as the previous step. Edit>Undo (Ctrl+Z) is disabled, and you can no longer undo work.
Additionally, steps will sometimes combine themselves without any user…
14 votes -
windows are bigger in 17.2. resizing documents behaving badly!
please fix this problem.
I've just installed 17.2. All my windows and pallets are suddenly bigger and when I want to grab a document in the bottom right corner to resize, the document becomes even bigger at first!is there a way to go back to my previous version? PLEASE?
1 vote -
Screen flickering - Screen turns black when moving objects.
When i drag and drop a Textframe my Screen flickers black for a second - almost every damn time. This happens for me and most of my colleagues and it is horrible to work with.
I feel like it got worse after installing the latest "Tablehead" fix that fixed the disapearing tableheads.
Build 12.1.0.56
OS X El Capitan 10.11.6
iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5", 2015)
3,3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Intel Iris Pro Graphics 6200 1536 MB2nd Monior is a DELL U2414H, 23,5" at 1800p
This is happening on quite a lot of machines in…
36 votesThe issue reported is at Apple’s end.
Hence, Apple is recommending to update macOS to 10.15.x version in order to resolve this issue.Please update your macOS to Catalina. If you still face this issue in macOS 10.15 do add your comment in this thread.
—
Adobe InDesign team -
Turn off Hyphenation across Page Breaks
I love the don't hyphenate across column breaks, however in some instances I have a 2-column setup and hyphens on the page is ok, but across page breaks is not. Please add this as an option in the hyphenation options. OR add it as something you can check in pre-flight.
4 votes -
HSB Color Slider Not Working
The HSB/ CMYK Color slider window hasn't been working for months, every project has this window grayed out and disabled with no options to turn it back on.
If you want to change your colour you have to use the Color Picker, which in comparison, isn't good.
4 votes -
Black artifacts appear on rulers
When opening an older ID document and working on it, moving the mouse pointer around leaves black artifacts on the rulers, top and left. It also distorts the 0 point of the ruler in the upper left corner.
A quick zoom and return to 100% size will clear it, but with use, the rulers will accumulate black marks again.
This bug has persisted in many previous versions of ID, and is alive and well in v15 (2020).
I hope you can fix this quickly.
2 votes -
InDesign freezes while Adding New/Editing Cross-References
- InDesign 13.1 x64 2a. Select the text, go to Insert Cross References either via Type > Hyperlinks & Cross References or via the Cross References Panel. 2b. Select text that already has a cross reference, go to Cross-Reference Options either via Type > Hyperlinks and Cross References of the Cross References panel.
- The New Cross-Reference or Edit Cross-Reference dialog box should open and function.
- InDesign freezes and has to be force quit. I've waited as long as 20 minutes for the system to function properly before having to force it to quit.
6 votesHi,
As confirmed by the user, the issue is resolved with the latest InDesign.—
Adobe InDesign Team
-
CC Libraries panel gets stuck when Relinking
Sometimes the CC Libraries panel gets stuck with the 'Select a graphic to relink' message when relinking. Can't select any options when this message is displayed.
3 votes -
Adjust Layout: add an option to ignore objects anchored in text or bring back legacy (2018) layout adjustment
I always made extensive use of the old layout adjustment feature in 'margins and columns', yet the new 'adjust layout' gives inconsistent and confusing results, resizing objects that never used to get changed.
It's gone from being very useful to a liability.
For me it was great for resizing the main text frame on multi-page (100s+ pages) books, but leaving the objects pasted into the text frame alone (figures, etc). Also moving page numbers aligned with margins, but not changing the sizes.
The new feature stretches and distorts carefully measured objects/figures, changes anchored object settings (at least, things move about…
14 votesThanks for reporting the issue. We will review it shortly.
-InDesign Team
-
Share for Review: Image Quality
Can we have an option where Share > Share for Review has a high-quality view as opposed to the low-res preview (see file attached- Review (left) and Original (right)) please?
21 votesShare for Review is to quickly share a design that is still a work-in-progress with the Reviewer(s) for quick feedback. Since the review opens in a browser for the reviewer, it has to load quickly even on slow networks, that’s why the image quality has been kept low deliberately so that the page loads quickly without long wait times. Using high-res views will slow down the loading of pages in the browser considerably, marring the experience.
Hope this helps.
—
Adobe InDesign team -
[ID-4272089]Grouped objects does not go back to original layers when ungrouped if 'Ungroup Remembers Layer' is enabled
- Version of Adobe InDesign is v21.0
- Create several layers, put an object on each layer, make sure that 'Ungroup Remembers Layers' is checked, group all objects, and ungroup.
- Expected result: all objects remain on the layer they were on before they were grouped.
- Actual results: all objects are on the top layer or the highest layer on which there was an object that was within the group
In my opinion this should be treated as a hotfix. This is ruining the workflow and messes up the files that then need to either be fixed or rolled back to previous versions.…
28 votesThe fix of the issue is now available in the latest InDesign 2026(v21.0.1.006). We recommend you upgrade to the latest version for the fix.
If you are unable to see the update, go to the Creative Cloud application, click on the context menu on the top right, and click on Check for App Updates.
—
Adobe InDesign Team
-
Dialogue windows open at full screen, and will not scale down or move
When I open, place, export or save a document, the dialogue window automatically goes to full screen and is not scalable or movable, even though I can select the border or the corner with the cursor (and see the cursor change to confirm I have the window border), it will not resize or move.
1 vote -
Use Auto-Sizing and Text Wrap Frame on causes application crash
Environment: InDesign 2020 (15.0.2 Japanese version) + macOS (confirmed with 10.15.3 and 10.14.6)
- create and connect two text frames
- set Auto-Sizing "Height and Width" on Text Frame Options
- Insert text into two frames full
- overlay graphic frames with Text Wrap settings ON
- move the graphic frame appropriately (drawing is not normal at this point)
- close documents with Command + W
During this operation, you will usually be asked to confirm the save, but suddenly InDesign will end and the application will crash.
Also, if you try while overwriting with Command + S without Command + W, you may not be…10 votesHi
Based on internal investigation and customer comments, we have concluded that the issue got fixed in InDesign 15.0.2 and that issue happens with InDesign 15.0.1 version only.Please start a new thread in case you see the issue happen with InDesign 15.0.2
Thanks
-
Menu not appearing when clicking toolbar hamburger button
I got the problem that the menu that should appear when you click on an "hamburger" button in the top right corner of a toolbar doesn't appear.
This happens on a second screen when you got more than one screen/monitor, and the main screen has higher resolution than the second one. It also only happens to toolbars that are positioned near the bottom edge of the second screen and where the menu height is larger than the distance between the "hamburger" button and the bottom edge of the screen.2 votes -
Unable to Save Document
Indesign 15.1
Opened file I have worked on before. Added some text. Went to 'undo' an action and couldn't with key command or 'Edit>Undo'.
Then thought I would try and close out of Indesign and restart to see if that helped. Tried to save file. Could not save file with key command or 'File>Save'.
Options—Save, Save As, CheckIn, Save A Copy, and Revert—are all grayed out and unusable, as well as many options under the Edit menu as well.-
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.40.46 AM.png 3101 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.33.11 AM.png 2906 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.40.46 AM.png 3101 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.40.46 AM.png 3101 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.33.11 AM.png 2906 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.33.11 AM.png 2906 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.40.46 AM.png 3101 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.33.11 AM.png 2906 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.40.46 AM.png 3101 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 8.33.11 AM.png 2906 KB
3 votes -
- Don't see your idea?