Adobe InDesign: Bugs
When filing a new bug, please provide:
- Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
- Steps to reproduce the issues
- Expected result
- Actual result
- Test file, screenshot, video or GIF capturing the issue (optional)
- or
950 results found
-
Italic option in variable fonts
There is no option to change upright/italic in variable fonts.
With Myriad Variable I always go to an italic preset and then adjust the settings from there. But there should be a option right next to the weight and width scales.2 votes -
Move Page bug, can't select Start or End
When attempting to move a page to either Start or End of document, I select those options, but it continually reverts back to Before or After page. InDesignCC.
1 vote -
Unable to print using Separations with trap Application Built In
When sending a 2+ color job with trap to RIP via Indesign, I keep getting "Printing Error: The Adobe Print Engine has failed to output your data due to an unknown problem." This seems to be an issue with the last 3 versions, along with the updates. I've uninstalled print drivers and reinstalled. Deleted cache files. For a short time I was able to print using an older version on Id but its no longer and option. My coworker who is on Mac has no problem printing with trap. Not sure what's going on. I contacted Adobe when the problem…
6 votes -
eyedropper
Eyedropper not working in CC2018 (ME enabled). When I click a blank square then use eyedropper tool to copy color values from an existing vector graphic, the vector graphic container changes color instead. And while testing just now, if I draw two squares, one black one white, then select one to copy the color of the other, the selected square disappears. Text blocks fail to copy too and all eyedropper options are selected. This wasn't an issue with CC17.
2 votesHi
There are two different issues mentioned here, and let me address them separately:
1. Clicking a blank square then using eyedropper tool to copy color values from an existing vector graphic, the vector graphic container changes color instead.
>>> Are you facing this problem with a specific vector graphic or with any graphic as I am unable to reproduce this issue with InDesign CC (13.0.1)? If possible, please share your indd file as a package with anasgupt@adobe.com and a small video demonstrating the issue will be really helpful.2. If I draw two squares, one black one white, then select one to copy the color of the other, the selected square disappears.
>>> With InDesign CC (13.0) the transform options have been added to the Eyedropper settings, this includes size and position. It seems that these options for you are checked and when you click on the square to… -
Text box (&photoBox) LAG & MOVE after clicking / editing
When clicking on TXT box indesign freezes for about 1s then it's moving text box ON ITS OWN by few pixels (please take a look at video: 1-2s, 12-14s, 22-24s) like how is this happening??? It doesn't matter if the document is big or small, new or old - I've tried all options it's doing it every single time!!! I can't work since it;s driving me crazy FIX IT ASAP:
INFO: Adobe InDesign v19.2, MacOS: 14.3 (23D56), MacBook Pro 16" m1 PRO, 32Gb RAM
Additional info:
1. tried on multiple documents all have the same poblem
2. new document with…3 votes -
set default save location to original file folder
Please make a setting in preferences with two options for default file save locations:
a) Always save to last used folder (the folder you used in the last save to session)
b) Always save to doc uments original folder (the folder where each individual document currently is saved and opened from)Currently InDesign uses option a) which in my case is a total desaster since everytime I am in a hurry saving or exporting something the file lands in some other project folder where i can search / delete or move it afterwards which results in a bad workflow.
2 votes -
Scripting bug with Book files and the new EPUB Page Navigation option
In InDesign 19.4 on macOS 14.4.1, the document.epubExportPreferences.epubCreatePageNavigation and book.epubExportPreferences.epubCreatePageNavigation properties are supposed to allow scripts to toggle the reflowable EPUB "page navigation" option on and off. However, only the document.epubExportPreferences.epubCreatePageNavigation property functions properly. The book.epubExportPreferences.epubCreatePageNavigation doesn't do anything. Regardless of whether it is "true" or "false", the output always includes the page break markers when outputting reflowable ePub from a book file via scripting.
3 votes -
Nonbreaking Space shortcut doesn't work on mac
The shortcut for the "Nonbreaking Space" (option+command+X) doesn't work anymore in Indesign 2023 (and 2022). Clearing cache and preferences didn't fix it.
System: MacOS Ventura 13.2.1
5 votes -
Command-S shortcut activates DON'T SAVE
Command-S shortcut activates DON'T SAVE
InDesign 20.0
MacOS 15.1
Swedish languageI noticed that Command-S activates the Don't Save button in the dialog shown in the image.
- Command-W to close the document
- The dialog shows Cancel, Don't Save and Save
- Command-S will activate the Don't Save button!
I tried it on two Macs with the same setup.
This is a serious bug and it's much worse than a crash.
After a crash the changes will be kept by the crash restore feature. If someone use the Command-S shortcut in the scenario described here they will erase all changes with no…
3 votes -
Share for Review is showing files in low res very blurry
I'm using PSD files linked in my InDesign, they look blurry like low res even the fonts used in the PSD https://assets.adobe.com/id/urn:aaid:sc:US:4e60c8e1-8ba1-46f0-af66-23ef2b71ac21?view=published
Is there any option to share for review low res or high res please let us know, but I don't remember this happening to me before, they were shared always clear.
6 votes -
Shift option drag crashes InDesign
I have used Shift Option Drag for a million years. Roughly a month ago it started crashing InDesign. I removed Plug-Ins, I uninstalled and reinstalled InDesign. I ran maleware, all good. App was up to date. How does that happen out of nowhere???????
2 votesWe have released InDesign 2025(v20.2.0.036) with many stability fixes. We recommend you upgrade to the latest version (if you’re not already on it) as it is more robust.
If you still face this issue even after updating, please submit the crash report to us. (Guidelines to submit crash are available at (https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/kb/submit-crash-reports.html )
Also, please send the following information to santalwa@adobe.com :
- Reproducible Steps – What were you doing when InDesign crashed?
- Video recording of the crash
- Is(Are) the issue related to a specific document(s)/asset(s)? If yes, could you provide us with the document(s)/asset(s)? Please package the entire document (To package the document, choose File → Package…)
—
Adobe InDesign Team
-
Sentence case in styles
Please add a "Sentence Case" to Paragraph Styles. Incredibly the choices are limited to Normal, Small Caps, All Caps, OpenType All Small Caps. When editing a book the subheads are almost always Sentence Case. Why would this not be an option?
5 votes -
Crash on using Align Distribute option
Help!! I used to be able to get the page tool, highlight multiple pages across a spread in the pages palette, then set the space between pages in the toolbar and use the distribute button to get even spacing between pages. Since updating to InDesign 2019 (v14.0.1), the “use spacing” measurement field never completely shows in the info bar, and every time I hit the “distribute horizontal” button, InDesign IMMEDIATELY crashes. I am using MacOS 10.13.6. Please help, I use this feature A LOT.
3 votesThe fix for this issue is now available in the latest update 14.0.2 of InDesign 2019.
If you are unable to see the update notification yet, open the menu (three dots) from the top-right of Creative Cloud desktop application and click on ‘Check For App Updates’.
Once the update button is shown against InDesign, click on the button to update to Id 14.0.2.If you face any problems with the new update, do let us know in the comments.
https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/kb/fixed-issues.html -
Export from book file default to wrong filetype
CC 2017 12.0.0.81
Using the regular export menu, export an interactive PDF. That becomes the default. But now I want to export a Print PDF from the book panel, it keeps defaulting back to interactive PDF. So to make its I don't have to remember to choose Print PDF (for every single export), I have to first export a random Print PDF using the regular export menu, just to switch the default in the Export Selected files to PDF option.The two export locations: File > Export and using the flight from the Book panel, shouldn't be tied together. They…
6 votes -
anchored object ignores textwrap of the first line
When anchoring an Object in a text and selecting the object to wrap around the text, the first line ignores this command.
When searching for a solution, i stumbled upon this entry describing the problem.the only solution seems to be to anchor the text in a previous line.
However, I want my textanchor to be on the right spot, so a screenreader can read it correctly - so anchoring it one line above is no option for me.
Is there a fix to this problem?6 votes -
Align Towards Spine/Away From Spine in Slug Area
Not sure if this is better as bug report or feature request . . .
Spine alignment options do not work for text in Slug Area. For example, text set to Align Towards Spine and positioned in the slug area beside a recto page does not align toward spine.
It makes sense why spine alignment for objects generally might not work for text not touching a page, since the pasteboard does not have a spine, but the slug area should be recognized as an extension of the page (or, at least, the requirements of the page).
2 votes -
Add transparency option to paragraph shading
Paragraph shading is super nice, but a lot of people would like to have them a little transparent over images. I know there is a option for overprinting, but this also change the color and is not a real transparency. Without this option it has to be done manually on each element.
So please add this additional feature to the settings. Thx
2 votes -
autocorrect
Autocorrect and spellcheck do not work on my version of Indesign CC 2020.
I have all options turned on, and it doesn't work at all.
Please assist as is hugely frustrating!!!
1 vote -
command and option keys stop working
Several times a day my command and option keys stop working in Adobe products. Only logging out will briefly fix the problem.
There doesn't seem to be any clear fixes for this online. Any ideas?
2 votes -
MacOS Ventura 13.6.1, InDesign 19.1: fx (multiply, overlay, saturation etc) unavailable.
Working with images/objects: When I try to select options below Normal in the Effects dropdown (multiply, overlay, saturation etc), the dropdown snaps back to Normal. It's also impossible to change the Effect's opacity.
1 vote
- Don't see your idea?