Skip to content

Adobe InDesign: Bugs

When filing a new bug, please provide:

  1. Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
  2. Steps to reproduce the issues
  3. Expected result
  4. Actual result
  5. Test file, screenshot, video or GIF capturing the issue (optional)
If you are facing a crash in InDesign, please submit the crash report as well. How to Submit Crash Report
Join the InDesign Prerelease Program to try out the new features and the bug fixes that are available in beta builds.

  • or

950 results found

  1. home

    Delete the new "home button" (located next to the "file" button) in Indesign, or turn it into an optional feature.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. Height and Width-Bug in object styles with anchored images in CC 2018

    I want to apply an object style, the size and position options are set to "width only" (nothing else is set).

    If i apply this style to a normal frame or a frame with a placed image, everything is fine. But if it's a frame of an anchored image, the height is changing too!

    Example: A frame with 100x100mm should be changed to 200mm width after the applied style. If it's a frame of an anchored image, it will become 200x155mm. (?!)

    CC 2018, OSX Version

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    2 comments  ·  Styles  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Hello,

    Issue has been fixed in InDesign’s latest update, Id 13.1.
    Please update your InDesign for the resolution of the problem.

    Thanks,
    Abhinav

  3. InDesign crashes when I try to change styles with the preview box selected.

    I am running InDesign 19.0.1 x 64 on a Windows 10 machine

    When I try to edit a paragraph style that includes bullet points, and with the Preview box checked, my computer crashes. As you can see in the screen capture video, it is an intermittent issue, but InDesign crashes the majority of times I am trying to edit the bullet paragraph styles. It also happens when I try to change the Anchored Object Options in my Object Styles panel.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We have released InDesign 2025(v20.2.0.036) with many stability fixes. We recommend you upgrade to the latest version (if you’re not already on it) as it is more robust.

    If you still face this issue even after updating, please submit the crash report to us. (Guidelines to submit crash are available at (https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/kb/submit-crash-reports.html )

    Also, please send the following information to santalwa@adobe.com :

    • Reproducible Steps – What were you doing when InDesign crashed?
    • Video recording of the crash
    • Is(Are) the issue related to a specific document(s)/asset(s)? If yes, could you provide us with the document(s)/asset(s)? Please package the entire document (To package the document, choose File → Package…)

    —

    Adobe InDesign Team

  4. InDesign White object exports as RGB in PDF/X 2008 PDF

    Not sure if this is a bug or intended but I don't think I have had this before as I have saved this file in the past for printing.

    InDesign Vers. 14.0.3

    White vector object (outlined text in InDesign not Linked/Placed) is changed to an RGB object when exported as a PDF from InDesign using PDF/X 2008 No Conversion Lab Ink Manager Values for Pantones are Lab for Spots & Convert all Pantones to CMYK.

    Tried a test using the Save for Print default setting and it came out fine, as well as testing the Output Color Conversion set to…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  PDF Export  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Paragraph style changing during Data Merge

    Paragraph style changes when data merging if I have the "remove blank lines from empty fields" option turned on. (see attached video)

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Styles  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Missing Option to assign key to "insert footnote"

    On InDesign 19.0.1 (german version) I am missing the option to assign a key to "Fußnote einfügen" (insert footnote). For "insert endnote" the option is there.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Others  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. Option-Click and Drag

    InDesign 16.0.1. (and prior)

    I updated to Catalina OS on Mac. Option-Click no longer works as it should. It is supposed to straight duplicate one time. Now it is acting as a step and repeat and is creating 2 duplicates instead of one. Please help. I can't find how to fix this.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  UI/UI Scaling  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Extensions option not showing in "Window" menu

    The extensions option is not showing in the "Window" menu. When I go to Edit-> Menu I can see it as a visible option, but it does not show up. Please provide troubleshooting steps as I need to load a local extension into inDesign.

    Version: 18.1 x64

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Others  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. version 17.0 while launching shows blank black screen

    Screen gets stuck on black screen and no option comes up.

    InDesign version 16.0 works fine.
    Tried reinstalling the app but shows same issue.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Page navigation counter resets for each chapter

    When exporting a reflowable EPUB from InDesign (19.4), the "Page Navigation" checkbox in Export Options → General generates accessible and usable doc-pagebreak markers and corresponding page link entries in a TOC.

    The minor issue I'd love to see resolved is that the ID counter of page numbers resets back to 1 with every chapter/file when exporting a .indb Book file, making all page numbers mismatched from Chapter 2 and forward.

    Technically, the page links "work" from the TOC because they link to both a unique file and a unique marker within the EPUB. But the page ID#s don't match the…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Why the strikethrough & highlight functions are hidden?

    Why are the strikethrough & highlight functions of share for review hidden?
    Hi. I was really looking forward to the ability to use the Share for Review feature. I find it an immense help for reviewing and proofreading publications.
    But when I start using it, the strikethrough & highlight functions do not appear in the browsers.
    However, looking in more detail, I see that the options are there, but they are hidden.
    I attach images
    Can you tell me how to solve this problem?
    I am at your disposal for any questions.
    Thank you

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Measurement Label Sizing

    When using multiple monitors with different display ratios, I sometimes have a problem where the measurement labels for smart guides in InDesign become unreadably small on lower-definition monitors. At 100% zoom, the font size is equivalent to 3pts and is totally useless. I would love either options to choose interface font and appearance sizing for lower resolution monitors or the ability to change the font size of the measurement labels, otherwise I am limited to which monitors I can use Adobe CC on.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    Closed: Fixed  ·  Sumit Garg responded

    This has been fixed in InDesign version 13.0.
    Please update to latest InDesign for resolving this issue.

    Thanks

  13. Hyperlinks In Document Not Linking Out

    I am working in InDesign 17.3.

    I can create and update the Share for Review link itself but all hyperlinks within the document won't work. The hyperlinks show up as links in the document and online (blue, underline) but when you click on them they don't do anything. You can't right click to get options to open in a new tab or copy the link.

    The links work when you export as a PDF or publish online but not when you do Share for Review.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Share for Review  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. "Option - Click' to resize page

    Version 15.0.1 Indesign 2020

    When resizing the page, the 'shortcut' of 'Option - Click' to resize the page is now not working. It now just springs back to the size it was.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Document/Pages  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. The magnification option is gone from the menu bar in InCopy 2024

    I'm not sure if this was a strange UI decision, a preference I can't find or a bug. It seems that the magnification dropdown in InCopy 2024 that was beside the "Help" button is gone.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Indesign is freezes when a window opens.

    Using Indesign Version 20.3.1, Whenever I open any pop up menu (e.g. paragraph styles, text frame options, Export window), Indesign will freeze and I get the spinning wheel on my Mac running macOS 15.4.1.

    It happens maybe 1 in 3 times and I have to force quit indesign and reopen.

    I have tried Resetting settings and preferences
    Uninstalled and re-installed Indesign (this helped for about a week) then it started again.

    I've never had this happen before and now it is driving me insane.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. Share for Review access settings - Public Link not available

    I am trying to use the new Share for Review option. As outlined here, I should be able to switch the access options from invitation only to public which should give me the option to have people without an Adobe account review the content by simply inputting a password for access. However, I cannot switch from invitation only to public as I simply have the invitation only option as a fixed option and no dropdown to choose from. Is there an option somewhere that I need to enable first so I can publicly share these files for review? As of…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. proportional scaling and Opt + drag copy feature not working

    Some, but not all, shift and option key functionality not working. I've tried both the Webroot SecureAnywhere fix (don't have this on my computer) and the keyboard unicode fix. Neither have helped. it's also inconsistent. it was working fine last night at home but not working this morning in my office.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. Show Hyperlinks

    I'm having a problem displaying hyperlinks. Absolutely nothing happens when I enable "Show Hyperlinks" in the menu. I need to highlight my hyperlinks, but the option isn't working.

    In View > Extras > Show Hyperlinks

    InDesign 20.4.1 French version

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Others  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. GREP Change all Option Bug

    When applying the following formula, the GREP Change All Option caused a formatting problem in my content:
    ^·\t(.+)$
    could you please check and suggest? I have attached my inputs here for your review.

    I am using Adobe Indesign CC 2021+ and MacOS Mojave version 10.14.6

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Others  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?