Adobe InDesign: Bugs
When filing a new bug, please provide:
- Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
- Steps to reproduce the issues
- Expected result
- Actual result
- Test file, screenshot, video or GIF capturing the issue (optional)
- or
950 results found
-
InDesign files from CC to CS6 - hypenation won't work anymore
In advance:
- Our external writers send us InDesign CC files (idml and indd)
- We open and save them in InDesign CS6
- Our customers use InDesign CS6Version:
InDesign CS6 8.0
InDesign CC from 12.0 to 14.0.2 (others not tested)Steps:
Since when: between 10 and 17. April 2019 (last time it worked on 10. April 2019)
2.a Open InDesign CC (any version, i tested 12.0, 13.1, 14.0.1 and 14.0.2)
2.b Save a file with activated hypenation (either indd or idml, both tested)
2.c Open either one of 2.b. in CS6Expected result:
Hypenation works as usual in…
1 vote -
Data Mergin
InDesign 16.0.2
Create Merge Document / Options/ Remove Blank Lines from Empty Field
I have 2 Records in the same page, when I create the merged document with the specs above, InDesign removes the blank lines from one record but not the other one.
1 vote -
CC2018 Swatch panel bug
The InDesign CC 2018 swatch panel displays different sets of swatches when set to different view options. “Small name” seems the most complete. Swatches are missing with the other settings especially after opening a document from a previous version of InDesign.
1 vote -
when GPU ENABLED cursor is delayed after click. takes second for cursor to appear making work choppy. cursor too thin small. need biggerplz
if this could be fixed please.
when you click the cursor should appear immediately so you can see where you are. also the cursor options need to be a big cursor so you can easily see where you are1 vote -
ID can't import multiple PDF (with multiple pages) into frames placed in master
InDesign 14.0.2 french
Windows 10 x64 Pro 1903 - 18362.239I need to import 148 PDF with 5 pages into each files.
I prepare 5 frames into the A-master.
CTRL+D from the 1st page to select my files.
For the demo, I use 3 files.Only the second PDF is imported.
All other PDF are visible in Links panel, but with no pages imported.If I do an the same import without frames on the A-master, I am able to place 5 pages per ID page. But it's longer, without the same scale, etc.
Please check my video attached.
I…3 votes -
Applescript Droplet: InDesign 2020 issue
A much used droplet to export one or more InDesign documents to PDF (with dialog and settings) will not work with InDesign 2020 (v15.0.0.155) anymore (fine with InDesign CC 2019). InDesign 2020 opens the first (or the only) document. I can select options in the upcoming dialogue box, but then crashes immediately by clicking OK with an error message (see screenshot).
However, the same base code of the script works directly from InDesign to export the active document to PDF without any problems.
InDesign 2020 may not handle "on open ..." and / or "repeat with ..." in the droplet…
2 votesAs per the confirmation received from the customer the issue no longer reproducible in Id 15.0.1.
We are closing the thread for now.Thank you,
InDesign Team -
Please fixz Indesign so that the font (Source sans pro) has all options. It changes itself to Source sans Pro (OTF) and then has only light
Fonts missing in Indesign but they work OK in Illustrator and in Affinity Designer. If I drop down the menu every time to more fonts they seem to appear for that instance.
1 vote -
shift to constrain and option-drag to copy only working intermittently now
- InDesign 16.1
- In a document, select an object. Then hold shift and scale the object. Or hold option and drag to copy the object.
- When holding shift, I expect constrained proportions. When holding Option, I expect a copy.
- Both key modifiers work perfectly in Illustrator, so it's not my keyboard nor my Mac. What I get when holding shift is the same as not holding shift - unconstrained proportions. What I get when holding option is the same as with not holding option - the object is just moved, not copied.
- I can't show a test because I can't show…
2 votes -
Button: Delete optional state and its content
In the Button and Forms panel, the button [Delete optional state and its content] is always gray, it will not delete the selected button states.
This is in ID2018, 2019, 2020 Mac & Windows. I have to go back to CS6 to see it working.
2 votes -
Error encountered while reading TIFF image
Adobe Indesign 2023 (v18).
When render TIFF images from Blender using the Deflate (ZIP) option.
All other compression options gives images with black background and no transparency.
Up to v17 Indesign 2022 these images imported just fine.
When doing a resave in Photoshop with no changes, the images imports fine.1 voteFix for this issue is now available in the latest release of InDesign 2023 - that is, InDesign 18.1 version.
Please update to this version of InDesign to get the fix.
--
Adobe InDesign team
-
Option Type > Fill with Placeholder Text doesn't work
Nothing happens when I click on the menu option "Type > Fill with Placeholder Text". Version: Indesign 17.3 x64, System: Windows 10 Pro.
2 votes -
When Application Frame is Turned Off, News Windows Size Behind GUI/Tools
I'm one of the many users that doesn't like the Application Frame in either Illustrator or InDesign because I usually like to drag&drop things or switch between applications on my Mac as I work creatively.
I hate that when a new window is generated (opening a file or creating a new one) it is sized beyond the size of my laptop screen and always BEHIND my docked tools in both Illustrator and InDesign software. Photoshop has the sense not to do this so whats going on with these other tools???
I have to drag the new window over just to…
1 vote -
Quick Action 'edit with' not working with creative cloud files
Normally I can quickly edit the placed PSD-files in Photoshop with option-click. But with the PSDC-files this option no longer works. From the Quick Options menu there are no apps under the 'edit with' menu. If the files are on the computer, it works fine.
Will this option also be available for PSD files that are in the Creative Cloud?1 vote -
Alternate text added to graphic missing in exported PDF when using Articles panel.
1.) Apply alternate text to graphic using Object > Object Export Options.
2.) Anchor graphic into frame
3.) Add containing text frame to Articles panel.
4.) Export to PDF including tags
The result is that the exported PDF file doesn't have the alternate text applied
1 voteIssue is now fixed and is part of InDesign’s latest update, Id 13.1
Please update your InDesign for the resolution of the issue.Thanks,
Abhinav Kaushik -
save document
I have InDesign 16.0 with a Dell Windows 10 platform. When i use the file->save option InDesign randomnly chooses the folder from all of the document folders opened during the current session for the document to be saved in, rather than the existing folder where the document to be saved originated. Since on any given day, i might have opened 10 documents in 10 different folders, i have remember EVERY document worked on to hunt for my file. It used to be that if i used file->save InDesign would automatically target the source folder from which the document opened.
5 votes -
Properties panel - linked panels opening across extended windows
Win 10 / InDesign cc2019
I have an issue where the underlined panel options don't respect the boundaries of my extended screen configuration causing the popped out palette to split across windows.
In illustrator these linked palettes always appear within the confines of a maximised application window's boundary.
P.S. I hope it is your intention to continue to develop the properties panel so that more of the options appear naturally within its space. Similar to the way the Transform, Character, Paragraph and Align sections do via the 'more options' ellipses.
I've pointed out your approach on the Illustrator forum…
1 vote -
Request: import of layers when placing a child INDD
At the moment, there is only the option in the extended Place dialog to switch layers of the placed child INDD on or off. Switching layers of a child object should be possible in the parent INDD. Would be way more convenient than right-clicking every child object and select the Layer options.
1 vote -
Table des matières impossible d'insérer des espaces entre les points de conduite et le numéro de page
Les options d'insertion de caractère d'espacement avant et après les points de conduite des titres de la table des matières ne sont pas pris en compte, il y a un bug. Les points de conduites sont collés au texte et au numéro de page. Ce n'est pas normal.
1 vote -
Problem with endnote formatting when converting to EPUB
I was converting a print book file to an EPUB using the 19.4 updated version of Indesign. The print file had footnotes on every page.. In the conversion options box, I selected the option to convert footnotes to endnotes, but the formatting of the numbers in the EPUB were not consistent. Each footnote number that was on a new page in the original Indesign files was bigger than the other numbers (see screenshots). To attempt to fix the problem, I converted the footnotes to endnotes in the actual Indesign file before exporting to EPUB. This fixed the numbering issue but…
2 votes -
Accessibility Alternate Text Issues in Acrobat
The file is designed where certain graphic elements are grouped together to make editing easier for others. In this case, horizontal dividers are made from two basic rectangles and a text box, grouped together.
Each rectangle shape is tagged as "horizontal divider" in the export options for accessibility. When I export to PDF and run the full accessibility check, I'm told that the group failed the "figures alternate text" test.
I then apply alternate text to the group in the export options. I run the full accessibility check in Acrobat and I am told that everything inside the group…
2 votes
- Don't see your idea?