Adobe InDesign: Bugs
When filing a new bug, please provide:
- Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
- Steps to reproduce the issues
- Expected result
- Actual result
- Test file, screenshot, video or GIF capturing the issue (optional)
- or
950 results found
-
Why the strikethrough & highlight functions are hidden?
Why are the strikethrough & highlight functions of share for review hidden?
Hi. I was really looking forward to the ability to use the Share for Review feature. I find it an immense help for reviewing and proofreading publications.
But when I start using it, the strikethrough & highlight functions do not appear in the browsers.
However, looking in more detail, I see that the options are there, but they are hidden.
I attach images
Can you tell me how to solve this problem?
I am at your disposal for any questions.
Thank you1 vote -
Extensions option not showing in "Window" menu
The extensions option is not showing in the "Window" menu. When I go to Edit-> Menu I can see it as a visible option, but it does not show up. Please provide troubleshooting steps as I need to load a local extension into inDesign.
Version: 18.1 x64
1 voteRefer to https://helpx.adobe.com/in/indesign/using/plug-ins.html for "Install plug‑ins" details.
-
export with spread option ignores page range
Export with spread option ignores page range
I've got an InDesign document with a 6 page spread.
When I export to pdf and select the spread option with a page-range of page 3-6, page 1 and 2 are also included.This happens in InDesign 17.4 en 18. Not sure about older versions.
1 vote -
Color font printing in muted colors in pdf/print
There are some issues with the rendering/printing of color-fonts (created with Fontself) in InDesign 2020. This looks like a bug because switching from pdf 1.6 to pdf 1.3 and back to 1.6 in the pdf export dialog-box solves the issue. This isn't an option in our InDesign server setup though. Are there any ideas for a workaround?
3 votes -
missing fonts
CC 2019 - MISSING FONT MESSAGE OPENING FILES
InDesign files opened on pc's after upgrading to Windows ver1809 cannot load fonts - upon opening file, missing fonts error with option to substitute fonts. The same files will open correctly on Windows ver1803 pc's. These results can be duplicated on multiple pc's.
3 votes -
Missing Option to assign key to "insert footnote"
On InDesign 19.0.1 (german version) I am missing the option to assign a key to "Fußnote einfügen" (insert footnote). For "insert endnote" the option is there.
1 vote -
Share for Review
After sending out a "Share for Review" in InDesign, I went back to the file after people made comments and when I go to the review, the only option is to create a new review. But if i go to my email notification and click on the link, I can see the review that way. I did not "save as" to the file.
3 votesOpen the Review panel (Window>Comments>Review) to see the comments made by the people with whom you had shared the document for review.
Please let us know if this solves the issue for you.
—
InDesign team -
ePub synthetic spread export not including xml / html language tags
Version 21.0
When exporting a Fixed Layout EPUB with the <Enable Synthetic Spreads> option, the language tags are not exporting in the HTML, which is an issue for accessibility. The language tags ARE exported properly when the <Convert Spread to Landscape Page> option is chosen, so this clearly seems to be a glitch with this particular export option.
I would expect the following code to be at the top of each of the HTML files <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang="en" xmlns:epub="http://www.idpf.org/2007/ops">, and this at the top of the OPF file: <package xmlns="http://www.idpf.org/2007/opf" version="3.0" unique-identifier="bookid" prefix="ibooks: http://vocabulary.itunes.apple.com/rdf/ibooks/vocabulary-extensions-1.0/" xml:lang="en">
However, the exported files…
3 votes -
TIFF images as assets in CC Libraries are always placed as PNG images on the document page
Affected: InDesign CC all versions that are working with CC Libraries.
Tested with InDesign CC 2018.1 and InDesign CC 2019 version 14.0.2.324 on Windows 10. InDesign versions on Mac OS X are also reported.Steps to reproduce the issue:
Do a new CC Library.
Add TIFF images saved from PhotoShop CC 2019 to the new library.
Two options how you can do this that I know of:
A. Drag the files from your file system to the open and empty library.
B. Use Adobe Bridge CC 2019 to drag files to the open library.Expected result:
If I want to…
2 votes -
Text Shifting
Hello, our team has been having an issue of text randomly shifting within the text box. The entire baseline appears to shift down whenever I type in the text box, whenever I do find/ replace text, and when pasting within the text box. The Text frame options remain the same but the text appears to shift. Sometimes only half the text shifting down. This is mainly happening with a text box that is turned sideways in banners we have on the page. This seems to happen across all documents new and old. This is on version 21.0.2
1 vote -
Text outside of text frame (top of frame)
Version 21.2
I saw this error in earlier versions of InDesign, but it was later fixed. Now it appears to have returned. I copied text into a text frame and the intelligent text flow created additional pages and frames to fit the text. While scrolling through the document, I noticed that the text in some frames (fewer than 5%) is partially positioned above the top of the frame (see image). To fix this, I open the Text Frame Options, change the vertical justification, and then change it back to the original setting (Top). The frame then fits the text…
1 vote -
key commands randomly stop working
This is in InDesign version 16.0.1.
Key commands randomly stop working for zoom (command + spacebar), proportional sizing (command + shift and command + option + shift), and even just using shift to move on a vertical or horizontal line.
I use these constantly and the only way I have found to fix them is to restart my machine. restarting the program does not work and I can't find any conflict that may be causing this.3 votes -
Can't access free templates
If you create software, and have templates that are labeled free. There should be no reason why I need a adobe stock account to access FREE TEMPLATES!!
If it requires said license, it should say, REQUIRES ADOBE STOCK LICENCE
If you are going to offer a product and put a paywall subscription behind it, that you can't access. What is the point of paying for a product that you can't access FREE content or basic options to try out.
Who ever designed that, needs to re-word it.
As you can tell, not a happy client.
Thanks
Robert Dion1 vote -
Click, click-drag combinations no longer work as they did previously.
Upon upgrading to 15.1.1, on Mac OS 10.14.16 Mojave
-Triple-clicking won't select a whole line, and, yes, I selected "triple-click to select whole line" in preferences.
Double-clicking does won't switch from the object tool to the text tool.
Double-click and drag won't extend the selection.
I didn't find anything in the Mac OS, Wacom, or InDesign prefs that referenced click or click-drag options. Adjusting double-click speed doesn't change this bug.
If these features were disabled to take advantage of the swipe features of Apple mouse and tablet gestures, please add a preference option to use a standard mouse.
This…
1 vote -
Adobe Review: automatic adoption of text suggestions and incorrect filter behavior
When I receive comments on replacing text or deleting text sections via Adobe Review and these are displayed in Adobe InDesign 20.0, the display switches to comments with the status clarified. After each correction, which cannot be accepted with approval but must be made manually, I have to set the filter in the control panel back to unresolved comments to work on.
It would be desirable for a filter to only be set in the control panel when I activate it. I would also like options for inserting, replacing or deleting text to be applied with a click and not…1 vote -
PDF Export Formatting Issue
I found that no matter what export options I use or how I format my file, it exports incorrectly. My content is in 2 columns on InDesign but when exported it seems pretty random how the PDF is structured (see the image).
This poses a problem for parsing software to be able to read the document in the correct order. It's common practice within most companies to use this for resumes. I'm sure it's also used elsewhere as well.
I've contacted support and they tried to resolve the issue by using my computer remotely. They found that this feature is…
1 vote -
leave User Workspaces ALONE
Leave User Workspaces ALONE!! Updates should automatically grab the current workspaces and copy them in, STOP trying to shove three versions of "essentials" down our throats. Not all of us have admin access, so deleting after every update isnt an option. It also stops non-admin users from migrating manually. To say this is frustrating would be an understatement.
"Essentials" is TRASH, but every **** update removes any custom ones I have (YES even if I choose migrate, it doesnt do anything so I stopped bothering) and force it into "Essentials". Just STOP. You DO NOT know our workspaces better than…
3 votes -
InDesign 2019/2020, PDF export deletes components of some composite CJK glyphs when they overlap
Install the test font in the attached zip and open the the InDesign document. Exporting to PDF clears out the top part. This did not happen in 2018.
I initially reported this to Josh Hadley on 23 Jan 2020, who wrote up an internal report and came back to me, saying the InDesign team could reproduce and suggested working around the issue by decomposing everything or diverting the export through PostScript/Distiller. A very large client told us that this is not an option for them and would like a direct fix.
3 votes -
Ligatures cause ADA compliance issues! Let's have a preference option to turn them all off, globally.
Please, please add a global Preference in the Advanced Type window to TURN OFF ALL LIGATURES. These are problematic to ADA requirements. This would be just an additional global preference that we could set when we have no InDesign documents open, so that any new documents (after we turn off the ligatures in the preference area) would not have ligatures.
2 votes -
Import Word file - cannot set 'Import as Static Text' as Default Preset
When I import a Word document I want the option 'Import as Static Text' ticked all the time.
The problem is that if I tick 'Import as Static Text' and make it a new Default Preset, InDesign remembers this until I quit InDesign and then relaunch it. The relaunched InDesign doesn't remember it - it remembers the Preset name, but it doesn't remember to tick 'Import as Static Text'.
This happens in CC2019 and CC2020. Could you please fix it so that the Preset you make remembers to keep 'Import as Static Text' ticked all the time, even when you…
3 votes
- Don't see your idea?