Adobe InDesign: Bugs
When filing a new bug, please provide:
- Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
- Steps to reproduce the issues
- Expected result
- Actual result
- Test file, screenshot, video or GIF capturing the issue (optional)
7767 results found
-
Stuck on adding font, other background task get stuck in queue that never clears
Occasionally I open a document that tries to add fronts in background, it fails then the task is added to Background Tasks and hangs indefinitely. Then if I try to export a PDF, it is added to background tasks but will not progress until the fonts are added, which they never finish loading.
6 votes -
Indesign 20.1 There is a delay in moving picture/text box
Clicking on a text box takes about 5/6 seconds before it selects it to move it.
6 votesWe have released InDesign 2025(v20.2.0.036) with performance and stability fixes. We recommend you upgrade to the latest version (if you’re not already on it) as it is more robust.
If you still face this issue even after updating, please send the following information to santalwa@adobe.com :
a. Please share your OS version and machine configuration
- To save your Mac's system configuration, open the "About This Mac" window, select "System Report," and then choose "File" > "Save" to export a detailed system information file that captures your current settings; you can name and save it to a location on your Mac for future reference.
b. Steps to Collect Windows System Information
- Type System Information in the search bar.
- Double-click the System Information app.
- Click File. Click Save.
- Name the file. Save the file to the Downloads folder. Click Save.
c. Reproducible Steps – What workflow are you experiencing performance issues in?
d. Video recording of…
-
InDesign crashes when updating review link
InDesign Version: 20.1
OS: macOS Sequoia 15.3.1
Device: MacBook Pro (14in 2021)
Memory: 32G
Chip: Apple M1 MAXI regularly update a large file. Any time I try to update the Share for Review link, InDesign crashes. In smaller files, I receive an error message saying, "There was an error updating the artifact." The link will successfully update, but not without crashing or errors.
6 votes -
InDesign 2025 / v20.0: »background task« tries to activate font all the time
Working with the font Minion Pro InDesign 2025 wants to activate the font in the background (shown in the background tasks panel) although it IS activated.
Closing the document does not bother InDesign. It still wants to activate the font (see screenshot 2).
Quit & Restart helps, but it should work correctly without it.
Mac
Sonoma 14.7
M3 processor6 votes -
Indesign Document Setup not holding height and width measurements typed in.
When typing in width and height into Document Setup it does not hold the measurements and reverts to last document opened measurements.
Indesign 20.0 Creative Cloud6 votes -
Placed TIF files export as grey boxes when exported to PNG format
InDesign 19.5, macOS 14.6.1, Apple M1 Max chip
With no document open, set the default view to "Fast" by choosing View > Display Performance > Fast Display.
Create a new document, and place a TIF image on the page.
Choose File > Export, and select PNG for the export format.
The TIF image will export as a gray box. It should export as the actual image. Even if you choose View > Display Performance > High Quality Display and export again, the TIF image will still export as a gray PNG.
If you close the file, change the InDesign default…
6 votes -
Publish Online: if forbidden character in the document name, the name has to be filled in again
To me it’s okay that “special characters” are not allowed in the title of a "publish Online" document.
But if a user gets this message, his/her title is completely deleted and he/she has to fill out the title again. Although there’s maybe only one forbidden character in it.
Annoying. Any chance to change this?
6 votes -
last letter in text frame disappears from PDF Hebrew
We're having issues with the last letter or the punctuation at the end of a sentence disappearing when the file is exported as a PDF. Primarily happens with right-to-left language, we're using Hebrew.
Been happening since the update to 19.0 onward.6 votes -
Bicubic Downsampling artifacts
When an image is exported to PDF with Bicubic Downsampling selected, the interpolation creates a a column of pixels which seem to be duplicated from the column immediately preceding it. This isn't very noticeable on full images, but on specific cases, like the round circle attached, it creates an unsightly "bump out" that alters the shape of the circle.
This does not occur if Average Downsampling is selected, so that's the immediate solution to the problem, but maybe the ID team needs to look at how Bicubic Downsampling is applied and if there's any way to improve this interpolation.
As…6 votes -
Hebrew Vowels colliding
Windows 11
Indesign 19 x64Hebrew Vowels colliding in the latest version of Indesign, please see screenshots from version 18 where everything is good and version 19 where the vowels are colliding.
6 votes -
Problem Selecting Hebrew vowels and diacritics
Windows 11
Indesign 19 x64Problem Selecting Hebrew vowels and diacritics especially when there are Hebrew and English mixed in the paragraph, it seems like there is no visual distinction to determine what is being selected. This is so frustrating, and makes it impossible to use in the long run.
6 votes -
Placing an ICML file in an InDesign file ignores multiple artboards in AI files if they are embedded
If you have an AI file with multiple artboards which is an embedded anchored object in a text frame it will always revert back to the first artboard when you place the ICML in InDesign.
- Create a new InDesign file.
- Create an AI file with two artboards and one simple object in each.
- Create a text frame in InDesign.
- Place the AI file in the text frame and choose the second artboard.
- Embed the AI file.
- Export the text frame as an ICML file.
- Place the ICML file into the document (not check in/check out).
What happens:
1. The "Pages"…6 votes -
Indesign 2024 Unable to Recognize Variable Fonts from Documents Created with Previous Version
InDesign 2024 (v19.0) fails to recognize variable fonts from documents created in previous version. Specifically, Helvetica Now Variable weights and widths are reported as missing. Running MacOS Sonoma (but the same system opens the file without issue when using InDesign 2023… can’t be an OS issue.)
6 votes -
anchored object ignores textwrap of the first line
When anchoring an Object in a text and selecting the object to wrap around the text, the first line ignores this command.
When searching for a solution, i stumbled upon this entry describing the problem.the only solution seems to be to anchor the text in a previous line.
However, I want my textanchor to be on the right spot, so a screenreader can read it correctly - so anchoring it one line above is no option for me.
Is there a fix to this problem?6 votes -
Variable font changes to Italic when a custom axis value is set, without user input. Also, the Italic axis cannot be controlled.
This may be related to a somewhat similar Illustrator bug:
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-desktop-bugs/suggestions/46249144-variable-font-changesSummary:
1. Variable fonts that have separate but related roman/italic font files are handled badly by InDesign (and Illustrator). In InDesign, if you set a custom axis value such as Weight or Optical Size, the font changes to Italic immediately. This issue occurs in fonts such as Roboto Serif and Apple SF Pro, which are well-tested, popular, and important by many measures. It also occurs in fonts that have internal data that is known to be good, at least as far as FontBakery testing shows. It doesn’t occur in…6 votes -
Adobe Caslon Pro: Glyph as bullet does not function
InDesign version 18.2.1 (Windows 10 x64). I would like to use a glyph as a bullet (the opentype digit 3 of Adobe Caslon Pro - an acorn). In the paragraph style box for my "Bulleted list" style, I am trying to add the bullet. When I click "add" and then click "ok," a standard round black dot appears in my list of bullet characters to choose from. If I try to add my preferred glyph (or any of the other opentype glyphs from the font's set, for that matter), the program tells me: "The selected bullet already appears in the…
6 votesThanks for reporting the issue. We're reviewing this.
--
Adobe InDesign team
-
Numbering restarts from 1 after an unnumbered style in exported html
- InDesign 18.1 (since 17.2.1)
- Create a numbered list paragraph, insert a line of a different paragraph style not containing numbers, continue the numbered list on the next line, the number continues from the previous list. Export this file to an html file.
- Expect the number to follow what we see in the InDesign file
- The number restarts from 1 after the inserted line of a different paragraph style
6 votesThis issue has been resolved in the latest version of InDesign 2024(v19.0). Please update to this version of InDesign from Creative Cloud Desktop application to get the fix.
--
Adobe InDesign team
-
Unrecognizable when Color Setting is set to Japanese name
OS : Windows 10/11
InDesign : 18.1/ 17.4/16.4.3 (probably all versions)If I save a color setting with a Japanese name, the next time I open the color setting, an error occurs and it is not recognized.
When I check the list, it is garbled and cannot be loaded.
The same problem does not occur when the same color settings are used in Illustrator.Since this problem occurs in a Japanese environment, the contents of the screenshots and attached file names are in Japanese.
Original Message :
カラー設定を日本語名で保存した場合、次にカラー設定を開いたときにエラーが発生して認識できません。
リストを確認すると文字化けしているため、読み込めない状態となっています。
同じカラー設定をIllustratorで利用した場合は同じ問題は発生しません。日本語環境で起きる問題であるため、スクリーンショットの内容や添付ファイル名は日本語です。
6 votes -
Persistent place in Creative Cloud folders
I would love it if my location within a cloud folder was persistent. In other words, if I wasn't always put back to the root directory of my Creative Cloud files. As it is, I have to navigate back into my folders each time I want to save or place or do almost anything. This wastes a lot of time.
6 votes -
InDesign CC2023 forces paragraph in overset
Since the update to InDesign v18.0 (CC2023) the first line of a Paragraph with custom Bullet (Numbering) text, gets forced in overset when the first word is longer than 8-9 characters. They don't flow to the next paragraph and there is still enough space to keep the word in the Text Frame.
In the example you'll see two Text Frames with one with the word "Duurzaamheid" cut in two and the second in overset with no space between "Duur" and "zaamheid" wich forces everything in overset. In InDesign 17.4 everything works as desired. Uploading an InDesign-file was not possible so…6 votesFix for this issue is now available in the latest release of InDesign 2023 - that is, InDesign 18.1 version.
Please update to this version of InDesign to get the fix.
--
Adobe InDesign team
- Don't see your idea?