Adobe InDesign: Bugs
When filing a new bug, please provide:
- Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
- Steps to reproduce the issues
- Expected result
- Actual result
- Test file, screenshot, video or GIF capturing the issue (optional)
- or
No existing idea results
- ~ No ideas found ~
7739 results found
-
[ID-4277180]InDesign v21.2.0.030 crashes on quit in SubProcess
Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
Adobe InDesign 2026, Version 21.2.0.30 (Build 21200)
Running on macOS 26.2 (25C56) on Apple Silicon (Mac14,2, 16 GB RAM)
Steps to reproduce the issue
1. Launch Adobe InDesign 2026.
2. Open any document (or create a new blank document).
3. Work normally for a while, or even do nothing.
4. Choose “InDesign > Quit InDesign” or press Cmd+Q.
5. Confirm quitting if prompted.
Expected result
InDesign quits cleanly without any error message and returns to the macOS desktop.
Actual result
• InDesign crashes on quit every time.
• macOS shows a crash dialog stating that “Adobe InDesign 2026 quit unexpectedly” (or similar wording).
• The macOS crash report shows:
• Exception Type: EXC_CRASH (SIGABRT)
• Termination Reason: Namespace SIGNAL, Code 6, “Abort trap: 6”
• Crash is triggered in Thread 10.
• This happens even after:
• Resetting InDesign preferences on launch.
• Deleting InDesign caches and preference folders in the user Library.
• Completely uninstalling and reinstalling InDesign via Creative Cloud.
• Testing in a brand-new macOS user account.
Additional context
• The same InDesign version (21.2.0.30) on my previous Mac and macOS version did not show this problem; the issue started only after migrating to the new Mac (same InDesign version, newer macOS).
• No third‑party plug‑ins are installed (or all third‑party plug‑ins have been removed for testing).
• The crash occurs regardless of which document is open; even a new, empty document triggers the crash on quit.Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
Adobe InDesign 2026, Version 21.2.0.30 (Build 21200)
Running on macOS 26.2 (25C56) on Apple Silicon (Mac14,2, 16 GB RAM)
Steps to reproduce the issue
1. Launch Adobe InDesign 2026.
2. Open any document (or create a new blank document).
3. Work normally for a while, or even do nothing.
4. Choose “InDesign > Quit InDesign” or press Cmd+Q.
5. Confirm quitting if prompted.
Expected result
InDesign quits cleanly without any error message and returns to the macOS desktop.
Actual result
• InDesign crashes on quit every time.
• macOS shows a crash…3 votesHi,
Thank you for reporting the issue. It is currently under investigation.
—
Adobe InDesign Team
-
"Repair file" Pops up when trying to 'Save' a file... InDesign closes without saving
When opening an InDesing file with the new 2026 version, the file opens without any issues at all.
No missing links, no missing fonts. Opens OK.When trying to save that file, which was created by previous InDesign version (2025), InDesign encounters an issue while saving. A pop-up asks if I want to "Repair the file". I hit the "Repair" button. InDesign app closes abruptly.
So, I used another way to save the file without 'Saving As', nor replacing the file.
I opened the exact same file made with a previous version of InDesign, hit 'Save as', select IDML, and the app didn't crash. I close the InDesing file. I erase the InDesign file from my folder.
Then:
Opened the IDML file, hit 'Save As > InDesign 2026'.
The file saves as InDesign.
No pop-up.I close the IDML file.
Open the recently saved InDesign (2026).No more issues.
When opening an InDesing file with the new 2026 version, the file opens without any issues at all.
No missing links, no missing fonts. Opens OK.When trying to save that file, which was created by previous InDesign version (2025), InDesign encounters an issue while saving. A pop-up asks if I want to "Repair the file". I hit the "Repair" button. InDesign app closes abruptly.
So, I used another way to save the file without 'Saving As', nor replacing the file.
I opened the exact same file made with a previous version of InDesign, hit 'Save as', select IDML, and…
3 votes -
Severe InDesign Performance Issues
I’m reporting severe and ongoing performance problems with InDesign that are significantly affecting day-to-day work.
The application has become consistently slow and laggy during normal use — including delays when clicking, saving, zooming, switching pages, placing assets, and general UI responsiveness. At times, even simple actions take several seconds and the software feels almost unusable.
While performance is worse when working from Dropbox-synced folders, the same lag and delays also occur when working with files stored fully locally. This suggests the issue is not limited to cloud storage and may be a broader performance problem within InDesign itself.
This behavior is happening across regular production files and is causing major productivity loss for our workflow.
Please investigate and prioritize improvements to overall performance and stability. InDesign is currently much slower than other Adobe applications and has become difficult to use efficiently.
Thank you for your assistance.
NechamaI’m reporting severe and ongoing performance problems with InDesign that are significantly affecting day-to-day work.
The application has become consistently slow and laggy during normal use — including delays when clicking, saving, zooming, switching pages, placing assets, and general UI responsiveness. At times, even simple actions take several seconds and the software feels almost unusable.
While performance is worse when working from Dropbox-synced folders, the same lag and delays also occur when working with files stored fully locally. This suggests the issue is not limited to cloud storage and may be a broader performance problem within InDesign itself.
This behavior…
3 votes -
Lenteur extrême indesign 2026
Bonjour,
depuis environ 1 semaine (dernière mise à jour 21.1 x64 d'InDesign sur PC), chaque lettre ajoutée à un document dans InDesign 2026 met presque 10 secondes avant d'apparaître et que je puisse agir de nouveau sur mon document. Même chose pour sélectionner un mot ou pour effectuer la moindre action dans un texte en cours d'édition. seule le curseur bouge normalement, mais il disparaît tant que l'action en cours n'a pas été réalisée.
J'ai désinstallé et réinstallé InDesign en supprimant les préférences. rien n'a changé.
J'ai réinitialisé les préférences et rien n'a changé.
Mon système est très récent :
- Processeur : AMD Ryzen 7 7700 8-Core Processor (3.80 GHz)
- Mémoire RAM installée : 32,0 Go (31,1 Go utilisable)
- Système d’exploitation 64 bits, processeur x64
- Windows 11 Famille - Version 25H2 - Installé le 11/07/2025
Build du système d’exploitation 26200.7623
Carte graphique : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3050C'est une panne critique pour moi car en tant qu'éditeur, je ne peux plus travailler correctement ni rapidement sur les livres en cours alors que tout allait bien avec ces mêmes dossiers il n'y a que quelques jours.
Merci de me donner une solution qui rétablisse le fonctionnement normal d'InDesign.
bien cordialement,
Jean-Louis KERVAHUT.Bonjour,
depuis environ 1 semaine (dernière mise à jour 21.1 x64 d'InDesign sur PC), chaque lettre ajoutée à un document dans InDesign 2026 met presque 10 secondes avant d'apparaître et que je puisse agir de nouveau sur mon document. Même chose pour sélectionner un mot ou pour effectuer la moindre action dans un texte en cours d'édition. seule le curseur bouge normalement, mais il disparaît tant que l'action en cours n'a pas été réalisée.
J'ai désinstallé et réinstallé InDesign en supprimant les préférences. rien n'a changé.
J'ai réinitialisé les préférences et rien n'a changé.
Mon système est très récent :…3 votes -
text dissapere when editing
The documents text dissapeares when I'm editing text - why - and I have the latest version 21.1
3 votes -
Tables and text randomly disappear in Adobe InDesign document
While working in Adobe InDesign, tables and text frames intermittently disappear from the document, even though their frames and guides are still visible. As shown in the attached image, content that should be displayed (tables and text) is no longer visible on the page layout.
This issue occurs during normal editing and navigation of the document and does not appear to be related to hidden layers or visibility settings. The problem affects document review and editing, making it difficult to verify content accuracy.
3 votes -
ePub synthetic spread export not including xml / html language tags
Version 21.0
When exporting a Fixed Layout EPUB with the <Enable Synthetic Spreads> option, the language tags are not exporting in the HTML, which is an issue for accessibility. The language tags ARE exported properly when the <Convert Spread to Landscape Page> option is chosen, so this clearly seems to be a glitch with this particular export option.
I would expect the following code to be at the top of each of the HTML files <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang="en" xmlns:epub="http://www.idpf.org/2007/ops">, and this at the top of the OPF file: <package xmlns="http://www.idpf.org/2007/opf" version="3.0" unique-identifier="bookid" prefix="ibooks: http://vocabulary.itunes.apple.com/rdf/ibooks/vocabulary-extensions-1.0/" xml:lang="en">
However, the exported files have the following code, which misses the xml language tags:
HTML: <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xmlns:epub="http://www.idpf.org/2007/ops">
OPF: <package xmlns="http://www.idpf.org/2007/opf" version="3.0" unique-identifier="bookid" prefix="ibooks: http://vocabulary.itunes.apple.com/rdf/ibooks/vocabulary-extensions-1.0/">
This is causing a LOT of manual work for my team and turning into a big time suck. It seems like something that could be a relatively easy fix on the development side... so we'd REALLY appreciate you prioritizing it! Especially with the recent EAA guidelines for ePub accessibility, this is a critical aspect of the ePub export.
Version 21.0
When exporting a Fixed Layout EPUB with the <Enable Synthetic Spreads> option, the language tags are not exporting in the HTML, which is an issue for accessibility. The language tags ARE exported properly when the <Convert Spread to Landscape Page> option is chosen, so this clearly seems to be a glitch with this particular export option.
I would expect the following code to be at the top of each of the HTML files <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang="en" xmlns:epub="http://www.idpf.org/2007/ops">, and this at the top of the OPF file: <package xmlns="http://www.idpf.org/2007/opf" version="3.0" unique-identifier="bookid" prefix="ibooks: http://vocabulary.itunes.apple.com/rdf/ibooks/vocabulary-extensions-1.0/" xml:lang="en">
However, the exported files…
3 votes -
Linked images are not loading after Mac OS upgrade to Tahoe 26.2
Linked images are coming up distorted/warped after upgrading my Mac's OS to Tahoe 26.2. Can be corrected by manually relinking all the images, but what a pain. Screenshot example included.
3 votes -
[ID-4274715] Missing anchoredObjectSettings for FlexObject in DOM
The anchoredObjectSettings for FlexObject is missing in DOM.
So it’s impossible to manipulate the anchor properties of a Flex Layout inside a text frame.Please, fix it and expose the anchoredObjectSettings of a flex layout object.
3 votes -
incorrect shadow from a group of objects
If you add a shadow to a group consisting of several graphic objects and at least one text object, the shadow behaves unpredictably when you move the group. Despite the values set in the corresponding settings window, it may change direction, density, blur distance, etc.
3 votes -
Adobe InDesign 20.5 - InDesignEPS Import: UnmatchedMark error.
Has anyone found a fix for this error "EPS Import: UnmatchedMark error" when placing a vector into InDesign? This has been a feature between programs for as long as I can remember and it is really frustrating that so many comments tell you "not" to do this as it is bad practice. It is definitely part of my workflow and helps create smaller, cleaner files, and streamlined, accurate colour palettes.
3 votes -
GPU Accelerated Preview Issues on Windows 11
InDesign 2025 & 2026 (v21.0 & v20.5.1)
PC running Windows 11 Pro
CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 9950X3D 16-Core Processor
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti
Display: ASUS ProArt PA279CRV @3840x2160
RAM: 64GB DDR5 @6000 MT/s
Storage: Samsung SSD 9100 PRO 2TBThere are mainly 3 issues, that have not improved with the new version:
Animated zoom is broken; it's laggy, and does not zoom in on the actual point of focus where you click with your cursor, making it worse and slower to use than CPU Preview's regular zoom, and in many cases it literally zooms you in on a point outside the artboard and out of your page. The same issue was described in an older bug and was marked as "fixed" when in fact it wasn't. (https://indesign.uservoice.com/forums/601180-adobe-indesign-bugs/suggestions/50037261--id-4264855-issue-with-animated-zoom-in-gpu )
Panning/using the hand tool while zoomed in on a page containing pictures, with "Display Performance" set to "High Quality Display", with GPU Accelerated Preview is slow and causes massive stutters compared to CPU Preview, its stuttering is very irregular it ends up causing eye strain and headaches after long use. The issue is not present with "Typical Display", but at that stage the performance is the same as CPU Preview so makes you wonder what's the point.
When working on a text layout and adjusting the flow of the text, when the end of the text moves from the last page to the page before, GPU Preview sometimes keeps a ghost of the last page containing text, even though the page before is now showing the updated content. CPU Preview shows it correctly. It can only be fixed by entering some new text into the original "last" page forcing it to refresh the preview.
The first two issues are constant and are the most critical, as they make InDesign quite frustrating to use, and make GPU acceleration completely useless.
I couldn't add a video of #3 as the content of the pages was confidential, but will try to take a video when it happens again on a different document.
InDesign 2025 & 2026 (v21.0 & v20.5.1)
PC running Windows 11 Pro
CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 9950X3D 16-Core Processor
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti
Display: ASUS ProArt PA279CRV @3840x2160
RAM: 64GB DDR5 @6000 MT/s
Storage: Samsung SSD 9100 PRO 2TBThere are mainly 3 issues, that have not improved with the new version:
Animated zoom is broken; it's laggy, and does not zoom in on the actual point of focus where you click with your cursor, making it worse and slower to use than CPU Preview's regular zoom, and in many cases it literally zooms you in…
3 votes -
Indesign 2025 and 2026 hang for long periods during functions such as edting searches, editing paragraph styles, and other things
Indesign 2025 and 2026 hang for long periods during functions such as editing searches, editing paragraph styles, using the find/replace font function and other things as well.
3 votesPlease send the following information to sharewithID@adobe.com :
- Reproducible Steps – What were you doing when the issue occurred?
- Video recording of the issue
- Is(Are) the issue related to a specific document(s)/asset(s)? If yes, could you provide us with the document(s)/asset(s)? Please package the entire document (To package the document, choose File → Package…)
—
Adobe InDesign Team
-
ID2026 Export Issues
Exporting PDFs and IDML files in ID2026 is taking far longer than it does to do the same export in 2025, and I'm losing almost all of the hyperlinks on parent pages when exporting to IDML.
3 votesPlease send the following information to sharewithID@adobe.com :
- Reproducible Steps – What were you doing when the issue occurred?
- Video recording of the issue
- Is(Are) the issue related to a specific document(s)/asset(s)? If yes, could you provide us with the document(s)/asset(s)? Please package the entire document (To package the document, choose File → Package…)
—
Adobe InDesign Team
-
InDesign 2026 doesn’t remember “Show Import Options” checkbox (Mac)
In the new InDesign 2026, this issue still persists — it’s been present at least since version 2025.
When importing graphics, the Finder window opens, but InDesign no longer remembers the “Show Import Options” checkbox state. In previous versions, this preference stayed active even after restarting the application.
Now I have to check it again every time I open InDesign.
3 votes -
Opening document message stuck when opening a document
ID 20.5 on Mac Sequoia (M4 Pro).
- Open a document by double-clicking the file.
- The document opens.
- The "Opening document message" remains stuck in the display.
- The only solution to exit from this situation is to close ID.
3 votes -
[ID-4270655] Align to Bleed issue
The Align to Bleed function works incorrectly for certain bleed situations.
If a facing-page document has an Inside bleed smaller than the other sides, (e.g Top: 1p6, Bottom: 1p6, Inside 0p, Outside 1p6) the Align to Bleed will left-align objects to this smaller bleed instead of the correct outer dimension. This does not seem to affect right-aligning.3 votesThis issue is fixed in the latest InDesign Release 21.1
Please update your version of InDesign (via the CCD app) to this latest release whenever it becomes available in your locale.
--
Adobe InDesign team
-
InDesign window doesn't automatically scale when switching between laptop and an external monitor, and application screen goes blank
This issue has been posted before, with no solution. Ever since one of the more recent updates to InDesign, the application window no longer automatically scales to fit the screen when connected to an external monitor and, when it's connected, the application window is blank—showing only the pasteboard color across the whole application window.
So you have to hit the "+" to expand the app window to the full screen area, close the file window, and reopen the file in order to work again.
Similarly, if you hit "Shift + W" to view Presentation Mode, the application window always re-acquires the window size from the laptop. So you have to hit "+" to expand it every time.
These are bugs that never used to be a problem ... and they take tons of micro-minutes away from my standard workflow.
These are really important issues to resolve. I'm surprised they have continued for so long ...This issue has been posted before, with no solution. Ever since one of the more recent updates to InDesign, the application window no longer automatically scales to fit the screen when connected to an external monitor and, when it's connected, the application window is blank—showing only the pasteboard color across the whole application window.
So you have to hit the "+" to expand the app window to the full screen area, close the file window, and reopen the file in order to work again.
Similarly, if you hit "Shift + W" to view Presentation Mode, the application window always re-acquires…3 votes -
Show Hyperlinks
I'm having a problem displaying hyperlinks. Absolutely nothing happens when I enable "Show Hyperlinks" in the menu. I need to highlight my hyperlinks, but the option isn't working.
In View > Extras > Show Hyperlinks
InDesign 20.4.1 French version
3 votes -
Creative Suite apps are INSANELY slow
All Creative Cloud programs are insanely slow and lagging. It's nearly impossible to use 2 or 3 of them at the same time, and I need to restart my computer every hour to even be able to do some very basic tasks. The problem is happening in all programs, Indesign, Illustrator, Acrobat Pro ertc.
This is happening on ALL computers I used in past years, and everything was up to date. It's not about 3rd party add-ons or resetting preferences, or any advice you offer.
Some weeks ago I killed off all Adobe/CC background processes and everything worked perfect until the next time I restarted the computer. I tried to re-do this, but it doesn't help any more, or I can't remember what exactly I did.
Obviously - it's some unoptimized background process or service causing it.
I can see on forums that many other users have the same problem.
You should take this seriously and finally fix it up. This is causing lots of problems and time is being wasted for millions of your users.All Creative Cloud programs are insanely slow and lagging. It's nearly impossible to use 2 or 3 of them at the same time, and I need to restart my computer every hour to even be able to do some very basic tasks. The problem is happening in all programs, Indesign, Illustrator, Acrobat Pro ertc.
This is happening on ALL computers I used in past years, and everything was up to date. It's not about 3rd party add-ons or resetting preferences, or any advice you offer.
Some weeks ago I killed off all Adobe/CC background processes and everything worked perfect until…3 votes
- Don't see your idea?