Skip to content

Adobe InDesign: Bugs

When filing a new bug, please provide:

  1. Version of Adobe InDesign, InCopy or InDesign Server
  2. Steps to reproduce the issues
  3. Expected result
  4. Actual result
  5. Test file, screenshot, video or GIF capturing the issue (optional)
If you are facing a crash in InDesign, please submit the crash report as well. How to Submit Crash Report
Join the InDesign Prerelease Program to try out the new features and the bug fixes that are available in beta builds.

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

7770 results found

  1. Mp4 export – create animated posts for social media directly in Indesign

    In Indesign hat man alles um sinnvoll layouten zu können und sogar die Möglichkeit einfache Animationen einzubauen. Wieso wird der professionelle Workflow nicht verbessert und ein Mp4 Export direkt in Indesign integriert?
    Wieso soll ich auf Adobe Express oder Canva ausweichen oder Dritthersteller Workaround-Plugins verwenden, um einfache animierte Social Media Posts zu erstelllen. Animate und After Effects sind viel zu kompliziert um z.B. ein Balkendiagramm schnell zu animieren. Indesign kann es ja bereits nur der Export fehlt.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Accessibility  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. Disconnected from Share for Review link

    I'm unable to

    a) open the share for review link in Chrome (I get a Disconnected error) and
    b) I can't see any annotations (pins, highlights, and contextual markers) via InDesign review window. I can only see the comments attached to each spread

    AI tells me that: My Share for Review link is no longer synced to Adobe’s cloud review servers.

    Going to adobe.com/files (Creative Cloud > Home > Your Files) = also gives me a disconnected error.
    When I check my account on the top right (in Creative Cloud) = I only see the preload screen like its about…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Share for Review  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. [Data Merge] MacRoman special characters corrupted after updating data source in InDesign 21.5.1

    Product version: Adobe InDesign 21.5.1

    Operating system: macOS 26.5.2

    Last working version: Adobe InDesign 21.4.1

    Description:

    Since updating to InDesign 21.5/21.5.1, Data Merge incorrectly decodes special characters in legacy MacRoman tab-delimited TXT data sources.

    The same data sources and InDesign documents work correctly in InDesign 21.4.1. In InDesign 21.5.1, special characters such as German umlauts, ß and accented characters become corrupted when “Update Data Source” is used.

    Selecting the source with these import settings does not resolve the problem:

    • Delimiter: Tab
    • Encoding: ASCII
    • Platform: Macintosh

    Re-selecting the data source with the same options also does not reliably restore the characters.

    …

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Others  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. can't resize the program window

    I can't resize the program window from the either side or from any corner. Sometimes if i keep trying, it will eventually work, but other times I could try 10 times and it won't resize.
    We are using Windows 11 Pro with dual monitors.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  UI/UI Scaling  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. collapsed palette panels on the right side don't open

    Collapsed palette panels on the right side don't always open when clicked on, it may work for a while but then stops until I reset my workspace, then it works for a while and then stops again. Clicking icons (sometimes) does not open the palette panels. Resetting the workspace fixes it. We are using Windows 11 Pro. Coworkers have the same issues.
    InDesign version 21.5.1 ME

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  UI/UI Scaling  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Rolling cursor in InDesign

    I completely get how incredibly irritating that is, especially when you have a strict deadline to hit and the software is just stuck spinning. The constant rolling cursor in InDesign is usually caused by the program getting trapped in a loop, trying to calculate or locate something in the background over and over again.
    Here are the fastest ways to force InDesign to stop lagging so you can
    finish and submit your work:

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. PDF comments UI bug

    In the panel for "pdf comments" you can set a filter to show only some types of comments. If you open this panel, all "comment type fields" are unselected – although they can all be seen in the document (screenshot 1). This is a mistake. All the fields should be selected at this point.

    If you click on one or more types, only these types will be displayed in the InDesign document. Correct behavior now. (Screenshot 2)

    Tested with InDesign 2026 21.1 and 2026 Prerelease 21.2

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Adobe Fonts Font Family: Adobe Kannada (Bold Weight)

    Product: Adobe Fonts
    Font Family: Adobe Kannada (Bold Weight)
    Component: OpenType Ligature Rules / Complex Script Shaping
    Operating System / App: Adobe World-Ready Layout Engine (Photoshop / InDesign)

    Title: Broken OpenType Ligature Mapping for "cha ottu" (ಚ್ಚ) in Bold Weight

    Description:
    In the "Adobe Kannada" font family, complex text shaping for the ಚ (cha) ottu functions correctly in the Regular weight. However, when switched to the Bold weight, the OpenType ligature rules mapping is broken. Instead of rendering a bold cha ottu, it outputs a ಜ (ja) or ja ottu glyph.

    Steps to Replicate:
    1. Type a word requiring a…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Text/Story/Table  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Justification Alternates (jalt) ignored by the HarfBuzz World-Ready shaping workflow

    In the recent InDesign versions Adobe has introduced HarfBuzz as the default text shaping engine but the Justification alternates feature is now not working in OpenType fonts at all, we have confirmed it by testing with several Arabic fonts. For Adobe legacy text rendering engine this feature still works seamlessly but not for Harfbuzz
    It has disturbed all the Arabic users past documents.

    I have attached a test Arabic document with Adobe Naskh font, as this font has justification alternates feature.

    Apply the World-Ready Paragraph Composer.
    Justify the Arabic paragraph.
    In Arabic Enabled InDesign set the Insert Kashidas to: None…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Others  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Screen does not refresh in all cases

    Every now and then, InDesign shows things in a previous state, which is very confusing.
    E..g. when adding a page break, the break is added, but the text remains, until the document is scrolled. The screen does not seem to refresh after this action.

    I am on a Mac Studio M3 Ultra, InDesign 21.4

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Cursore cambia in clessidra

    Versone 21.4 x 64
    Il cursore si trasforma in clessidra e resta così per tutto il tempo rendendo impossibile comprendere ad esempio i punti di input del testo.
    Ho provato ad installare nuovamente il software ma il problema è sempre lì.
    Credo anche che sia correlato alla presenza di immagini nel documento poichè mi pare che a volte inizi da quando si inseriscono immagini.

    Per favore aiuto perché non si riesce a lavorare così.

    Grazie

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Box with gradient feather printing differently to a box with solid colour

    I have two boxes side-by-side, both the same process colour. When printing, the box with a gradient feather prints a different colour to the solid coloured box. It works on most colours, but if it's a lighter colour it prints incorrectly.
    If I 'Print as image' it works, but that doesn't solve the problem when sending to a commercial printer. This is happening on multiple printers, so not a printer issue. It's how InDesign is handling anything with transparency.

    The colour mix I'm using is C27 M11 Y17 K2

    Windows 11
    InDesign 21.5.1

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Print/Packaging  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. alt+scroll wheel messes with hotkeys because of sticky alt key

    Whenever I use the alt key with scroll to zoom, the top menu becomes underlined. That's a built in windows fetaure from the days before mice. The difficulty is, if I then press V for Selection, it instead opens the View menu. I have to be careful to hit escape after zooming this way, which is inconvenient.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  UI/UI Scaling  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Double-clicking one document in a Book can open every selected document and leave InDesign trapped in recovery

    InDesign version: 21.5.1 x64
    Operating system: Windows 11

    Steps to reproduce

    Open an InDesign Book containing many documents — in my case, approximately 80.
    Select all documents in the Book panel in order to export the complete book to PDF.
    After the export is finished, double-click one particular document in the Book panel because you want to open only that document.
    InDesign begins opening every document that remained selected after the PDF export.

    Expected result

    Double-clicking a particular document should open only the document that was double-clicked.

    If opening every selected document is considered intentional behaviour, InDesign should at least:

    …

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  PDF Export  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Cursor flickering throughout InDesign 21.5.1 on macOS Tahoe

    Since updating InDesign from 21.5 to 21.5.1, the cursor flickers and repeatedly switches between different pointer shapes/icons while working in InDesign. This occurs throughout the application, including over text, tables, frames and the pasteboard.

    System:

    MacBook Pro (2021), Apple M1
    macOS Tahoe 26.5.2
    InDesign 21.5.1
    Apple Magic Mouse
    Normally using two external monitors (one HDMI, one USB-C)

    Troubleshooting performed:

    Restarted InDesign and macOS multiple times
    Reset InDesign preferences
    Disconnected both external monitors and tested using only the MacBook display — the flickering continued
    Tested Photoshop — no cursor flickering
    Tested InDesign 20.5.4 — no cursor flickering
    Reverted InDesign from 21.5.1…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Pre-composed Hebrew characters do not track

    InDesign 21.1 ME
    Pre-composed Hebrew characters in many Hebrew fonts do not track through the Character panel, though precomposed Latin characters do (see image, line 5 versus line 9). I would expect that they track like any other discrete character.
    Many thanks for your help.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. Coloring the File > Export menu command causes all export formats except Adobe PDF (Print) to disappear

    InDesign 21.5.1 – Coloring the File > Export menu command causes all export formats except Adobe PDF (Print) to disappear

    Environment

    • Adobe InDesign 21.5.1
    • macOS Ventura 13.7.8
    • Intel iMac
    • French version of InDesign

    Problem

    In InDesign 21.5.1, assigning a color to the **File > Export… command through Edit > Menus… causes the Export dialog to display only Adobe PDF (Print) when the dialog is opened from the File menu.

    All other export formats disappear.

    However, if I open the same Export dialog using the keyboard shortcut Command + E, all export formats are available normally.

    Removing the color assigned to…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. Indesign struggling to do anything and lagging

    I haven't had a problem with Indesign when I started using it, but the more I use it the more a pain it is being. I am a university student for graphic design and we need to use Indesign to create our portfolios. It started with a little lag when trying to scroll, but now I sruggle to get into the app, it takes hours and when I finally get in the app it takes more hours to open my portfolios. Once I am finally in my portfolio and want to start doing my work, even just moving the mouse…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Accessibility  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. Issues with running GREP formula more than once

    InDesign Version: 21.4.1

    I am formatting an Author Index. Some of the authors in the book that I am working on come in with multiple authors per paragraph with the corresponding page number listed once at the end. I use GREP to separate the authors onto their own lines with the page number.

    GREP formula:
    Find: ^(.+?), (.+)\t(\d+)$
    Change To : $1\t$3\r$2\t$3

    The format I start with:
    Coby Morvinski, Yaniv Shani 1086

    The format I finish with:
    Coby Morvinski 1086
    Yaniv Shani 1086

    I have to run this formula multiple times so that it separates the larger groups (there can…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. PDF export do not work with big documents

    Indesign 21.4.1
    Mac mini M4 24 GB
    Tahoe 26.5.2 (25F84)

    Document 1834 pages
    3 colums
    It contains only running text—no images—using paragraph and character styles. It is entirely in Times New Roman. The document is simple, though it is quite long.

    It creates a 0 KB PDF file and just keeps spinning without ever finishing. There are no error messages. The "Force Quit" menu shows nothing unusual.

    It is impossible to print using any of the "Adobe PDF Settings" options—such as "Press Quality," "High Quality Print," etc.

    A friend tried printing the file from an older version of InDesign on a…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  PDF Export  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?