Skip to content

Adobe InDesign: Feature Requests

When entering a new feature request, please provide:

1. Description
2. Why is this valuable to you?

Thank you.

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

5633 results found

  1. Cancel required color in Character Style Options > Character Color > Tint ...

    Allow users to specify a color shade (and other options) without having to select a color. This would make the character style much more versatile; a single character style could be used for paragraph styles with any color, such as bullet points in different colors depending on the brand.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Styles  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. option to start a certain paragraph, for example chapter title, at a specific page

    When creating a lay-out file with text for an illustrated book that covers all available pages: it would be nice to tell the title of chapter two, to start at page 13 for example and the title of chapter 3 to start at 21 and so on. In that way you can instantly see how much blank space can be filled with images and you won't have to deal with constantly reflowing of the entire text. Also that way it could possibly be easier to place images on the right pages without having to deal with anchored objects that sometimes…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. Allow use of numerical font weights instead of labels

    Please include an option to use font numerical weights in paragraph/character styles. Font weight labels are not standardized among fonts. A variant could be labelled Normal, Book, Regular, Roman, or any other label that the font foundry thought was a good idea at the time. That means in my character style menu, there are many different labels corresponding to the same weight.

    If InDesign internally tracked its weights numerically, I wouldn't have to use a separate character style for different uses of Semibold just because one foundry calls it "Semi Bold" or "SemiBold" or "SemiBd". CSS has this feature even…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. Can't PNG File on Feature Requests

    Speaking of oversights, this is a design program and the feature request forum doesn't allow users to post pngs? What?

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Other  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. "Clear All Alerts" in Background Tasks

    The fact that you cannot clear background tasks in bulk by selecting multiple, or clear all is a waste of time and a huge oversight.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  UI  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Changed .ai with different layers, option ‘apply to all’ in pop-up-window

    When I import .ai files and work on them, add layers and afterwards have to update the files I get an error message. And have to hit return any times the file is imported in my ID file.
    It would be helpful if I could check 'apply to all' and hit return only once.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  UI  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. Option to hide/block blue notifications bar in computer labs

    I teach InDesign at the college level in a lab with 24 Macs all running the latest version. These lab computers are managed by the college, yet all students each and every day are suggested to try out the beta build of InDesign with AI assistant. Since these are public, managed computers there is no way for them to try this version out. As an instructor I would love the option to hide/disable these notifications as they literally get in the way of instruction. Thanks for listening!

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  UI  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Combine minimized tablets in panelgrid

    A number of palettes (like glyphs) ar easy to use as pop-up, do your thing, and close again. It would be nice to be able to minimize palettes like in my simplified mockup screen dump but then also being able to put them in the palletgrid so they become part of all tools..

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  UI  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Highlight Text Effect

    Maybe this could be an extension of the paragraph shading options, but it'd be great to have a highlight text option that lets you adjust offsets like paragraph shading, except it goes to the end of each line and stops there vs shading the whole paragraph based on the longest line. Similar to the "text background" effect in Canva. That highlighted look is very popular now.

    Right now I'm achieving this by either making thick underlines with negative offsets and having to add spaces at the beginning and end of each line, or I have to make separate text boxes…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Text and Type  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Add a CAI Content Authenticity panel to let users check image provenance

    It would be helpful to have a CAI (Content Authenticity Initiative) panel in InDesign to allow users to check the "Cr" content credentials on placed images.

    (Adobe is one of the founders of CAI, so it should be implemented in all Adobe tools.)

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. "Print Booklet" needs option to export to pdf instead of just postscript

    Print designers need the option to export as print spreads, which is currently only available as a postscript file. Adobe's distiller is no longer up to the task of easily converting files to pdf, plus it's an extra step that should be built in natively to InDesign. Yes, many printers do this after receiving your file but some print shops ask for print spreads to be delivered to them. This should have been baked into a print layout program from the beginning.

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  PDF Export  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Allow for Wider PDF Export

    Illustrator updated the maximum width years ago, can indesign please update this too.

    Sometimes when exporting large pdfs like banners, we need to export spreads up to 10 meters+, please allow this to be a feature, so it's easier to show a proof to a client .

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  PDF Export  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. ajout de fonctionnalité

    j'aimerai bien pouvoir copier les effets (FX) dans indesign, comme sur photoshop pour pouvoir appliquer un même effet à d'autres blocs texte ou image. l'utilisation de la pipette nécessite d' avoir à changer sans arrêt les options de celle-ci, ce n'est pas franchement pratique. De plus un document comportant plusieurs pages ils vous faut retrouver la page ou l'effet est appliqué pour l'appliqué sur une autre. Alors que si l'effet était comme dans photoshop on pourrait facilement le copier coller

    Autre suggestion lors ce que j'ouvre certain document lourd, je choisis un affichage standard ou rapide plutôt que l'affichage en…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Styles  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Ignore hidden pages when creating Share for Review link

    I occasionally keep different versions of a given page hidden in my document in case I need them later. However, when creating a Share for Review link, I have to make sure I delete the hidden pages each time otherwise they will export in the Share for Review preview and confuse my reviewer.

    Can you please add functionality into Share for Review so it will not export any pages that are hidden when creating a share link?

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Allow importing/copying gradients between InDesign, Photoshop, and Illustrator.

    It should be possible to import gradients swatches from Photoshop and Illustrator into InDesign, and vice versa. Whether by finally being able to have a gradient saved in CC Libraries or being able to copy+paste an object with the gradient applied between programs.

    I can't tell you how many times I've finally gotten a perfect gradient in Photoshop, only to then realize I need it in InDesign and my only options are to 1) painstakingly make it again in InDesign, 2) design InDesign things in Photoshop with the existing gradient, or 3) Export a gradient from Photoshop as a jpeg…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. 1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Document/Pages  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. Remove or Disable Share Button

    I need to have the option to Disable or Remove the Share Button. It is constantly running in the background and slows down InDesign significantly. I work in an office where I will never share a document in InDesign and I'm sure there are a lot of people who are in the same situation.

    This has slowed down my work and the other managers are not happy. We are looking at switching to Affinity.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. Text Variables: option to replace Tabs

    Currently, a tab in a paragraph (heading) carries into a text variable that is sourced from that paragraph style, causing major spacing headaches. There should be an option in Edit Text Variable window to replace tab with a user-defined number of spaces (or any other characters, while you're at it).

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. Grouped master-page elements

    Could InDesign please fix the long-standing issue with grouped master-page elements? When elements are grouped across left- and right-hand masters, applying just one master can cause elements from the other to appear. Could elements be automatically clipped at the spine so only the selected master’s elements appear on each page?

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Document/Pages  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. Option to turn off Export your document to Adobe Express using the option under File > Export to Adobe Express.

    I would like to be able to turn off the Blue Popup Boxes that appear when I export pdf files. I have no use for Adobe Express, so telling me about it every time is distracting. Having a checkbox to disable these messages would be handy, or an option in preferences either.

    Option to turn off Export your document to Adobe Express using the option under File > Export to Adobe Express.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  UI  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?