Bug details

Prompted to save with no changes made to document

InDesign CC

I open a saved document in InDesign, but have no made any changes or touched the document at all. InDesign puts the asterisk next to my file anyways, prompting me to save upon exit. But no changes have been made. This is very annoying because I don't know if a change has been made or the program is messing up. I then have to update all of my PDF exports just to be safe.

5 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Bennett shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

The fix for this issue is now available in the latest update 14.0.2 of InDesign 2019.
If you are unable to see the update notification yet, open the menu (three dots) from the top-right of Creative Cloud desktop application and click on ‘Check For App Updates’.
Once the update button is shown against InDesign, click on the button to update to Id 14.0.2.

If you face any problems with the new update, do let us know in the comments.
https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/kb/fixed-issues.html

3 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Max commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Luckily I found a solution here: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1471566
    Go to Preferences > Guides & Pasteboard > DISABLE Preview background - Match to Theme Color.
    I remember changing that last week or so. But since I only shut down my Mac only Friday evening, the bug hasn't kicked in ... or I never tried to close an unchanged document.

  • Max commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I encounter the same issue. The only "unusual" thing I did today, was changing a color management setting. I changed it back, but the issue remains.

  • pageh commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I've been having this same issue. Every single InDesign file, even if it was previously saved from CC 2018 gives me the "save as" popup. It won't let me just save files. AND it happens even if I've made no changes to file. Agreed that this is very annoying.

Feedback and Knowledge Base