How can we improve InDesign?

Allow Changing User Options for Documents Already Published using Publish Online

I have published several documents using the Publish Online feature in InDesign and then decided to change how readers interact with the online publication, i.e., allow download, allow sharing, etc. when such options were not indicated initially. Right now it looks like the only way to change the options is to re-publish the document and indicate the new options. It's a nightmare, particularly when a document published just fine the first time around, and generates error messages in trying to re-publish. I hope there's an easy answer to this.

2 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Linda Buford-Burks shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
Need more info  ·  Anonymous responded  · 

Wanted to understand this a little more.

Currently if the user tries to re-publish a document the user has 2 options, either “Publish New document” or “Update Existing Document”.

Choosing Update Existing lets the user update an already published document, such that the URL generated remains the same. So in effect this should work very similar to what has been described here as a problem.

Can you try this out (if not already) and let me know how this works for you.

Thanks
Javed

1 comment

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Linda Buford-Burks commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    The problem is that the document has to re-publish after features are changed. Re-uploading the document often causes issues that did not occur in the original posting. It would be great to just change the options without having to re-publish the document.

Feedback and Knowledge Base