Remove "Publication must be saved before continuing" workflow requirement.
The requirement to save a file before creating a package is cumbersome. Often, I am saving a package to a new location to use as a starting point for a new project, or a creating a new separate version. Saving it requires potential alterations to be saved in the original file. Even without modifying the file, updated links or fonts might saved or broken.
One can Save As first, as a workaround, but this is the cumbersome second step. Creating a package from any open file without first saving it should be possible.