In Adobe In Design CC 14.0.1 x64
We use a previous file to keep the formatting of a merged mailing list. I used to be that when you copied the file to a new directory it could no longer find the old data file and gave you a warning. It also would not show you a preview because it could not find the data.
Unfortunately, the new version seems to have held the old data so we printed the old merged file by mistake. It doesn't even make sense that it should be able to do this if the link is broken. This is very dangerous. If the data link is broken you should see the fields but no data!
I am fairly certain this did not happen in previous versions.