Greg Naive

My feedback

  1. 12 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    8 comments  ·  Adobe InDesign: Bugs » Performance/Usability  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Greg Naive supported this idea  · 
  2. 4 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    7 comments  ·  Adobe InDesign: Bugs » Performance/Usability  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    Please help us with answers to the below queries:

    1. OS version of the machine where issue is reproducible.
    2.Are the files opened simultaneously by more than one user?
    3. Does the same file which is opened as Read Only in Id 14.0.2, when opened in Id 14.0.1 opens fine?
    4. Does remounting the SMB drive fixes the issue?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Greg Naive commented  · 

    1. All Mac computers running macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
    2. InDesign 14.02 on 5 machines, one on 14.01
    3. Had been working fine on all ID files until yesterday when computer running 14.01 suddenly started causing files on the SMB share to show up as Read-only to all other users. All that has to happen is for this user to open and close a file, does not have to save any changes. Only that user can open and edit that file at that point.
    4. Only way to release the Read-only lock is for "bad" user to dismount the SMB share. Quitting ID has no effect either way, only dismounting the share.
    5. Upgrading "bad" computer to 14.02 did not fix, nor did doing a complete uninstall including preferences, then installing 14.02 fresh with no prefs imported from previous versions did NOT fix the problem.
    6. The only work around is for this particular user dismount and remount the SMB share every time he touches an ID file, even just open and close.
    7. Had this same problem after ID 12 to 13 upgrade with multiple computers. Got better after changing server from macOS 10.12.6 running Apple Server 5.xx software with multiple users to just plain 10.13.6 all using the same username to access the share. Shared user is setup as "Network User". Also upgraded all workstations to 10.13.6. Upgrade from ID 13.1 to ID 14.01 on all computers went fine, but once all except one went to 14.02 it has reappeared.
    8. All workstations have older versions of CC still installed, but none have shown this issue again until just now.
    9. One thing that worked before in one of these iterations was wiping the offending computer and then cloning from one not showing the issue, then migrating the original user back on. This is a PITA, but if it is the only reliable solution I will have no choice.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Greg Naive commented  · 

    Similar problem with Read-only on SMB network share:

    1. All Mac computers running macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
    2. InDesign 14.02 on 5 machines, one on 14.01
    3. Had been working fine on all ID files until yesterday when computer running 14.01 suddenly started causing files on the SMB share to show up as Read-only to all other users. All that has to happen is for this user to open and close a file, does not have to save any changes. Only that user can open and edit that file at that point.
    4. Only way to release the Read-only lock is for "bad" user to dismount the SMB share. Quitting ID has no effect either way, only dismounting the share.
    5. Upgrading "bad" computer to 14.02 did not fix, nor did doing a complete uninstall including preferences, then installing 14.02 fresh with no prefs imported from previous versions did NOT fix the problem.
    6. The only work around is for this particular user dismount and remount the SMB share every time he touches an ID file, even just open and close.
    7. Had this same problem after ID 12 to 13 upgrade with multiple computers. Got better after changing server from macOS 10.12.6 running Apple Server 5.xx software with multiple users to just plain 10.13.6 all using the same username to access the share. Shared user is setup as "Network User". Also upgraded all workstations to 10.13.6. Upgrade from ID 13.1 to ID 14.01 on all computers went fine, but once all except one went to 14.02 it has reappeared.
    8. All workstations have older versions of CC still installed, but none have shown this issue again until just now.
    9. One thing that worked before in one of these iterations was wiping the offending computer and then cloning from one not showing the issue, then migrating the original user back on. This is a PITA, but if it is the only reliable solution I will have no choice.

    Greg Naive supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base