Brett

My feedback

  1. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    2 comments  ·  Adobe InDesign: Feature Requests » Other  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Brett commented  · 

    This problem is still present in InDesign 2021

  2. 67 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    47 comments  ·  Adobe InDesign: Bugs » Others  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    The fix of the issue is now available in the latest InDesign 2022(v17.0.0.96). We recommend you upgrade to the latest version for the fix.

    If you are unable to see the update, go to the Creative Cloud application and click on the context menu on the top right and click on Check for App Updates.


    Adobe InDesign Team

    Brett supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Brett commented  · 

    InDesign 16.0 on MacOS 10.15.7, several different machines, all experience this issue where InDesign has changed its behavior regarding locked files. Our machines are networked and share a drive across a gigabit intraoffice connection to collaborate on work. It's important for our workflow that work is done sequentially, with one person handing off a project to another. There is no non-sequential work.

    On previous versions of ID, when trying to open a .indd file while a corresponding .idlk file is present, InDesign would give an error. This was the expected behavior, as it prevented two people working on the same file at the same time without knowing it. This prevented any possibility of lost or duplicated work.

    In rare circumstances, it was possible for two users to open a file at the same time, before the .idlk file could be created and uploaded to each machine. In these instances, the slower user would be served a Read-Only version of the file by the server, and if they didn't notice, they'd have to save as another file to avoid losing their work. This was also the expected behavior and was rare enough to not matter.

    Since InDesign 16, the first behavior no longer exists at all. .idlk files appear to have no purpose. Two users can open the same file, whether a corresponding .idlk file exists or not, and one will end up in Read-Only mode, every time, no errors.

    I have verified that .idlk files are being created when files are opened, and are visible across all machines, but it doesn't prevent other users from opening that same file. Nothing has changed in our network configuration, the only change since this began was the upgrade to v16.

    Thanks!

Feedback and Knowledge Base